1) Shailputri – Shailputri is the first form among Navadurga and is worshipped on the first day of Navratri Celebrations. Shailputri is the daughter of Himalaya and was born in the house of King of Mountains “Parvat Raj Himalaya”, so she is called “Shailaputri” means the daughter of mountain. Shailaputri has a half moon in her forehead & she is holding a trident in her right hand & lotus flower in her left hand. she rides on mount Nandi (bull).

2) Brahmacharini – The second name of Goddess Durga is Brahmacharini and is worshipped on the second day of Navratri Festival. The goddess Brahmacharini wears white clothes, holds a japa mala (rosary) in her right hand and Kamandal (a water utensil) in her left hand.

3) Chandraghanta – Chandraghanta means, “one who has a half moon shaped like a bell”. Chandraghanta is also known as Chandrakhanda, Chandika or Rannchandi. Chandraghanta is worshipped on the third day of Navratri Festival. With the blessing of Chandraghanta all the sins, distresses, physical sufferings, mental tribulations and ghostly hurdles of the devotees are eradicated.

4) Kushmanda – Kushmanda is the fourth form of Hindu Goddess Durga. The name Kushmanda signifies – Ku means “a little”, Ushma means “warmth” or “energy” and Anda means “cosmic egg”. It is believed that she has created the universe with her smile. Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of the festival of Navratri. She bestows health, wealth and strength to her worshippers. Kushmanda has eight hands holding a discus, sword, hook, mace, bow, arrow and two jars of honey and blood. She rides on a tiger or lion.

5) Skandamata – The name Skandamata comes from the word, Skanda which is another name for war god Kartikeya Mata means Mother. Shandamata is fifth from the Navadurga and is worshipped on the fifth day of Navratri. Skandamata has four hands and she rides on a lion and Lord Skanda can be seen in her lap.

6) Katyayini – Katyayini is the second name given for Parvati in Amarakosha. In Skanda Purana it is written that she is being created out of the spontaneous anger of Gods, which eventually led to killing the demon, Mahishasura. She is first mentioned in the Taittiriya Aranyaka part of the Yajurveda. Katyayini is the sixth form of Navdurga and is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri.

7) Kaalratri – Kaalratri is the seventh among Navdurga and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri. Kaalratri is widely regarded as one of the many destructive forms of Mother Goddess – Kali, Mahakali, Bhadrakali, Bhairavi, Mrityu, Rudrani, Chamunda, Chandi and Durga.

8) Mahagauri – According to Hindu mythology, Goddess Mahagauri has the power to fulfill all the desires of her devotees. Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navratri Festival.

9) Siddhidatri – Siddhidatri means : Siddhi means supernatural power or meditative ability and datri means giver. Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Navdurga and is worshipped on the ninth day of Navratri. In this form Durga removes ignorance and she provides the knowledge.

Interesting Facts About 9 Forms of Durga Mata – Navaratri Special
Article Name
Interesting Facts About 9 Forms of Durga Mata – Navaratri Special
Interesting Facts About 9 Forms of Durga Mata – Navaratri Special: Shailputri , Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayini, Kaalratri, Mahagauri, Siddhidatri
Publisher Name
WebbyBuzz India
Publisher Logo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here