Least Known Facts About IPL That Will Totally Surprise You

IPL is going strong even in its 10th season and heading towards more milestones. In these 10 seasons hundreds of players tried to impress and establish themselves as T20 players, but only a few have managed to rule the charts. As far as the facts go, here are some interesting facts about IPL that would leave you surprised.

1) Sarfaraz Khan was only 10 years old when ‪IPL‬ began. When he was 17, he was playing for ‪RCB‬ alongside Gayle, ABD, Kohli.

2) Piyush Chawla has bowled more than 360 overs in his IPL career. He is yet to bowl a no-ball! He has also conceded the most sixes in IPL.

3) Parthiv Patel has played for 6 Different franchises. The most by any player.

4) Adam Gilchrist has the best bowling figures in IPL. In his one of the IPL match, he bowled just one ball and took the wicket of Harbhajan Singh.

5) Yusuf Pathan and Rohit Sharma are the only two players who have won the IPL Trophy three times- the most by any player in the league.

6) Every year, Royal Challengers Bangalore promote “Go Green” Initiative by wearing green jersey for one home match.

7) Chris Gayle remained unsold in the 2011 auction of IPL.

8) Delhi Daredevils is only team that has never played an IPL final. (Sunrisers Hyderabad played an IPL as Deccan Chargers)

9) The number of sixes Chris Gayle has hit in IPL history stands at a mammoth 230. What’s more shocking is the fact that there is a difference of 80 sixes between him and the second placed Suresh Raina. He has scored above 50 sixes in a season twice in 2012 and 2013 and is the only player to do so.

10) During the IPL 8 match between RR and RCB, a unique feat happened. This match was indeed remarkable. It featured the oldest Indian player as well as the youngest Indian player of IPL 8, for the first time against each other. Pravin Tambe (43 yrs 198 days old) and Sarfaraz Khan (17 yrs 179 days old) had an age difference of a whopping 26 years! And coincidentally, this match took place on Sachin’s birthday.

11) MS Dhoni is the most successful captain in the history of IPL with 79 wins to his name. He also has an outstanding success rate of 60.93 which is the best for any player who has captained in 50 or more games. Adding to that, the team he has captained has never failed to reach the semi-finals or the playoffs. They have contested in the IPL finals 6 out of 8 times.

12) The Champion guy, DJ Bravo was the Purple Cap winner in IPL 2015. He took a fortifying 32 wickets in the tournament which is the highest by any bowler till date.


13) In an umpiring record, the Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena has officiated the most number of IPL games. He has umpired in 74 IPL matches spanning 7 years. He started umpiring in IPL from the 2009 season. He has also officiated the IPL finals 3 times i.e. in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

14) Not MS Dhoni, but Dinesh Kartik holds the record for most dismissals as a wicket keeper. He has 84 dismissals (61 catches, 23 stumpings) followed by MS Dhoni who has 77 dismissals (54 catches, 23 stumpings) to his name.

15) The renowned master, Sachin Tendulkar is the only Indian to win the Player of The Tournament. He won the award in the 2010 season where he scored 618 runs (a record then).

16) The only 2 time Orange Cap winner Chris Gayle and Michael Hussey jointly hold the record for most number of runs in a single season (733). While the Caribbean guy took 15 matches in the 2012 season, the Aussie scored those runs in 16 games in the very next season.

17) Dwayne Bravo has most wickets in a single season: 32 scalps in 2013 edition. He is also the only player to win 2 Purple Caps.

18) The record for fastest IPL 100 stands at 30 deliveries; and it was none other than Chris Gayle to achieve the feat while playing for RCB. The fastest fifty was drilled in 15 balls by Yusuf Pathan for KKR.

19) Hat-tricks have been taken in the IPL so far – with Amit Mishra bagging 3 of them.

20) Yuvraj Singh is the most expensive player in the IPL so far: $2.67 Million, bought by Delhi Daredevils in 2015 edition. Gautam Gambhir follows him with $2.4M in 2011 edition bought by KKR. Yuvraj again holds the record for 3rd most expensive buy with $2.33M in 2014 bought by RCB.


ChhayaP is the Creator and Editor Of Webbybuzz.com, She Created This Blog For Sharing The Exotic Mysteries and Facts About World, With the hope that others will find it Interesting and Informative.

Add comment

WebbyBuzz Archive

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.

Most popular

Most discussed